Working together as one for a safer Pacific

The Pacific Transnational Crime Network (PTCN) is a well-established and trusted network, operating on declarations of partnerships between law enforcement agencies (LEA) and in doing so acknowledges that no one agency can combat transnational crime alone; multi-agency collaboration is key to effectively combat transnational crime. It uses a regional multi-agency approach and has been operating since 2002.

The PTCN is a mandated program of the PICP, and the PICP Executive Leadership Team (ELT) provides strategic direction and guidance to the activities undertaken by and/or coordinated between members of the PTCN. Over the last seventeen years, the PTCN has developed into a regional transnational crime capability. The PTCN comprises: twenty member countries; twenty eight transnational crime units (TCUs) across those countries; and a central coordination hub – the Pacific Transnational Crime Coordination Centre (PTCCC), currently based in Apia.

Download PTCN Strategic Direction 2020-2024 (PDF, 5MB)

Pacific Transnational Crime Coordination Centre
The Pacific Transnational Crime Coordination Centre (PTCCC) is a multi-agency team based in Apia, Samoa. Its purpose is to manage and coordinate criminal intelligence through cooperation and collaboration with TCUs and regional stakeholders. The four key roles functions include:

  • coordination: managing the collection and timely coordination and dissemination of transnational criminal intelligence
  • intelligence products: producing high quality intelligence products
  • collaboration: collaborating with law enforcement agencies and regional forums; and
  •  capability development: enhancing the intelligence skills and capability of the PTCN.

Transnational Crime Units
There are 28 Transnational Crime Units (TCUs) in 20 member nations across the three Pacific regions; Micronesia, Melanesia and Polynesia. The role of a TCU is to identify and target transnational crime and share information by reporting to the PTCCC.  Each TCU is a sovereign entity with representation by customs, immigration, and police. Key functions include:

  • proactive criminal intelligence collection, analysis, target development and dissemination
  • leading on efforts to detect, dismantle and disrupt transnational crime impacting member countries and the region
  • liaising with local partners in relation to border control issues and investigations; and
  • completing a country focussed transnational crime intelligence assessment each calendar year.

Member States with TCUs
American Samoa, Australia, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Key partners of the PTCN include the Australian Federal Police (AFP), New Zealand Inc and the United States Joint Interagency Task Force – West (JIATF-W).

PTCN Secretariat: